Well, as always, I received some very nice books for Christmas (that’s almost always all that I want), most from my wishlist and a few surprises. Here’s what I received:

Fantasy:

  • Gilded Latten Bones by Glen Cook: The latest in the Garrett, P.I. series. I’m not a massive fan, but I am a Glen Cook completist (yes, I even own an extremely rare copy of The Swap Academy by Greg Stevens.
  • Surrender to the Will of the Night (Book 3 of The Instrumentalities of the Night) by Glen Cook: This is the third book in this series (I have seen a rumor that a fourth book with the proposed title Working the Gods’ Mischief. It’s not nearly as good as the Black Company series, but then again, decent Glen Cook books are better than most other fantasy novels on the market.
  • Towers of Midnight (Book 13 of The Wheel of Time) by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson: No, I’m not even remotely caught up on this series, why do you ask? And yes, I’ll be buying the next (final?) volume in the series, due in 2012, whether I’m ready for it then or not.
  • Science Fiction:

  • Wild Cards, Volume 1 (2010 Tor re-release), edited by George R. R. Martin: I’ve got this volume from the ’80s in the old SFBC edition, but this re-release contains three new stories. Woo-hoo! Let’s all cross our fingers that Tor continues reprinting the entire series and commissioning additional stories.
  • Horror:

  • Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice, Book 2) by Joseph Delaney: I couldn’t take it anymore and so I picked up this second volume in the series. I’ve read the first book in the series and liked it a lot.
  • I Luv Halloween (Ultimate Twisted Edition — Cabbage Poot) by Keith Giffen (art by Benjamin Roman): Very difficult to find color(!), hardback omnibus of the three volumes in this black comedy-horror graphic novel series. My dad got me a really nice copy that’s signed by Benjamin Roman, who also drew a picture of one of the main characters on the front endpapers.
  • The Cthulhu Mythos Encyclopedia (Third Edition) by Daniel Harms: I own the second edition and am going to have to do a page-by-page comparison to see what was added. Let’s hope a bunch of stuff.I do wish they had kept the Encyclopedia Cthulhiana moniker though.
  • Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King: His latest, containing four novellas. I still anticipate starting my grand reading adventure of reading every King book (in publication order or so) in 2011.
  • BPRD: Killing Ground (Volume Eight): Can’t wait to see how the storyline progresses. I am woefully behind on my BRPD and Hellboy reading.
  • Lobster Johnson: The Iron Prometheus: Very much looking forward to this pulp-inspired graphic novel in the Hellboy universe.
  • Mystery/Crime:

  • Moriarty by John Gardner: Spotted this one in the remainder bin. No idea how it’s going to turn out. Some Sherlock Holmes pastiches and related books are lots of fun, others are clunkers. I have some of Gardner’s James Bond novels, but I haven’t read any yet, so no idea how he is as a writer.
  • The Mike Hammer Collection, Volume 1: I, the Jury; My Gun Is Quick; and Vengeance Is Mine! by Mickey Spillane: I have been wanting to check out Spillane’s Mike Hammer novels for a long while, and this omnibus of the first three novels in the series looked like a great place to start.
  • Berlin Noir (March Violets; The Pale Criminal; A German Requiem) by Philip Kerr: The first three Bernie Gunther novels set during the Third Reich. Looks pretty interesting.
  • The Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories, edited by Otto Penzler: A really thick tome. Appears to be a great set of noir/crime stories. Not the kind of book you plow through, but one story at a time should be terrific.
  • Non-fiction:

  • The Peninsular War Atlas by Nick Lipscombe: A very nice slipcover edition by Osprey (surprisingly enough) of what looks like an outstanding new atlas of my favorite of the Napoleonic campaigns.
  • Three political books by David Horowitz: Unholy Alliance: Radical Islam and the American Left; Reforming Our Universities: The Campaign for an Academic Bill of Rights; and The Shadow Party. None are particularly books I would have picked up on my own, but they’re all nicely inscribed by the author.
  • So that’s how I made out for Christmas. Some great stuff in there.

