Tags

, , , , , , ,

I just wanted to give a quick shout-out to a Scottish independent bookstore specializing in science fiction that I have recently had the pleasure of doing business: Transreal Fiction, run by a gentleman named Mike Calder. Here’s the page on how to order the signed books.

Iain Banks, Charles Stross, Ken Macleod, Brian Ruckley, and Hannu Rajaniemi all live near the store and have kindly agreed to autograph copies of their books for Transreal’s customers.

I ordered (and just received) the following signed books (all UK editions):
* The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks
* The Fuller Memorandum by Charles Stross
* The Quantum Thief and Words of Birth and Death (a chapbook) by Hannu Rajaniemi

Of course, you’re probably all aware of Banks and Stross already (if not, please check them out). The only name on that list you might not be familiar with is Hannu Rajaniemi. He’s new to me as well, but a friend of mine in the book retail industry has described his first novel as “probably the hottest science fiction release in the last 5-10 years.” You heard it here first, folks. So I look forward to reading his stuff.

Service was extremely courteous and fast. Packaging of the order was excellent; it took me about five minutes armed with a utility knife to cut my way through to the books. I’ll certainly be ordering more from Transreal in the future.

Please note: I have no affiliation with Transreal Fiction, I’m just a happy customer.

