Tags

, , ,

I’ve been a bad boy since the last update on book acquisitions: I’m still buying more books than I am able to read.  Alas.  Here’s what I’ve picked up in the last few weeks:

  • In my attempt to collect the entirety of Stephen King’s oeuvre, I’ve used Book Mooch to pick up a bunch of books I didn’t have, both some older ones I’ve previously read and the newer ones I never picked up.  These include: Dolores Claibourne, Desperation, The Regulators, Insomnia, The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, Hearts in Atlantis, Gerald’s Game, Cujo, Firestarter, From a Buick 8, Storm of the Century, Under the Dome, Just after Sunset, Blaze, and Blockade Billy.  I still have nine more to acquire (several of which I once owned but no longer have), but then I’ll have them all and can start reading them all in order.  What a massive (but fun!) reading project that will be.
  • Osprey’s book on the Battle of Jutland.  This is one of my favorite naval battles of all time (yes, I am a military history geek).
  • Halloweenland by Al Sarrantonio.  I have been wanting to get into his work for a long time, and since Halloween is my favorite holiday, this was a natural.  Some of his stuff is oddly hard to find though.
  • Strega by Andrew Vachss.  I once owned this one, but haven’t been able to find it for years.  The Burke books are great and I really need to get back into them.  Pretty bleak stuff though.
  • The Painted Darkness (ARC) by Brian James Freeman.  I owe the publisher a review of this one, so when that’s done, you’ll see it here.  Not familiar with the author at all, but it’s a premise that resonates with me, which I’ll get into in the review.
  • Delta Green: Targets of Opportunity.  A role-playing game supplement for Call of Cthulhu and Delta Green.  I pre-ordered this sucker more than two years ago and they finally delivered.
